The last matches of the Premier League 50 overs cricket league for Limpopo clubs were concluded on Sunday the 1st of December. The 2019/2020 season will commence on Sunday the 12th of January next year.

Whilst the side from Nkowankowa enjoyed a bit of an early rest having a bye, the teams of Hornbills Cricket Club and Nashua Aces Cricket Club celebrated dominant victories. Hornbills took on Giyani and Aces played away against Louis Trichardt.

Both the batting line-ups from Hornbills and Aces posted significant scores on the boards for their sides to defend. But it was in the bowling departments especially that completely and utterly dismembered their opposition.

For the Aces team, young strike-bowler Lance Trueman stole the show with some immaculate figures. In just 5.1 overs, Trueman’s sterling bowling landed him eight wickets for just 6 runs (8/6) with an economy rate of 1.2 which included two maiden overs. Aces team mate Jaco Calitz claimed the other wicket in his spell of five overs.

The mighty Aces were sent in to bat first after winning the toss and posted 200 runs to defend against Louis Trichardt. The batsmen of Aces who contributed in runs were Erik Viljoen (25), Ntokozo Mahlaba (31), Lance Trueman (11), Armand Pansegrouw (16), Tiaan Enslin (24) and Louis Botha (39). Louis Trichardt added 42 extras which did not help their cause.

With Trueman truly on form with the ball in hand, Louis Trichardt just had no answers as they were sent back for an early shower for a mere 19 runs all out.

The Hornbills were up against the side of Giyani Cricket Club which was played at the Louis Trichardt Oval. After winning the toss and electing to send Giyani in to field, the Hornbills posted 256 runs all out in 45.1 overs.

The players who made significant contributions with the bat were Ryan Atkinson (22), Paul Hawken (55), Richard Atherstone (43), Stebian van der Walt (21), Garth Lancefield (20) and Wian Fourie (49).

In reply, Giyani’s batsmen faltered due to some formidable bowling from the Hornbills and were all out for just 107 runs. Richard Atherstone caused the most damage with the ball for the Hornbills with his bowling figures of 5/24 in his 10 overs spell which included three maiden overs.

The other Hornbill bowlers who also claimed Giyani scalps were Emile Kruger, Wian Fourie, Adolf Smith and Stebian van der Walt.

The Tzaneen Phoenix Cricket Club’s Premier League side travelled to Polokwane Cricket Club’s B Oval where they faced Seshego. The hosts won the toss and elected to send the Phoenix batsmen in to bat first.

The visitors were restricted to 157 runs. The batsmen from Tzaneen who contributed runs were André de Beer (12), Gideon Swanepoel (19), Edward Clements (47), Maurits Perold (19), Jan Bormans (14, not out) and Bernard Pretorius.

It took just one of the Seshego batting openers to take the victory away from the Tzaneen Phoenix side. Seshego’s Nduvho Maphidhi scored 76 runs from 72 balls, not out, to help steer his side to a one run victory.

The bowlers who claimed wickets for Tzaneen Phoenix were Cobus Geldenhuys (two wickets) with André de Beer, Rainart Schoonbee and Edward Clements in support who took one wicket each.

On Friday the 29th of November the Limpopo Impala rural cricket team played a one day match against the rural side of Gauteng Lions in Polokwane. The Limpopo Impala team did well to beat their rivals by six wickets.

The Impala’s won the toss and elected to field first. Limpopo’s bowlers piled on the pressure from the word go with the Gauteng Lions batsmen having a struggle to put any significant score on the board.
The only notable scores by the Lions came from their middle-order batsmen with Shaylen Pillay on 59 from 90 balls and Codi Yusuf who made 45 from 75 balls. Pillay lost his wicket to the bowling of Gerhardus Fourie caught by fellow Impala Chris Mohale. Impala’s bowler Andrew Rasemene with a caught and bowl send Yusuf back to the Lions change room.

The Impala’s bowlers who claimed wickets were Andrew Rasemene (4/31 in 8 overs), Don Radebe (1/28 in 8 overs), Gerhardus Fourie (2/31 in 9.3 overs), Ben Skade (2/25 in 10 overs) and Chris Mohale (1/44 in 9 overs).

In reply, the Impala’s chased than the required runs in just 33.4 overs, posting189 runs for the loss four wickets. The most notable runs scored were from batsmen Lerato Kgoatle (64 from 75 balls), Lefa Thaba (44 from 45 balls), Armand Pansegrouw (29 from 17 balls) and Impala’s captain Thomas Hobson (28 from 27 balls).



To leave a comment you need to login / register first